Time travel (how I wish I could)

“The bad news is time flies. The good news is you’re the pilot.” – Michael Althsuler

This weekend marks the 30th anniversary of the start of my big overseas backpacking adventure.

On September 9th 1986, at a very tender age, I set off alone into the wild blue yonder.

I had lots of time, and not a great deal of money, to travel the world and experience what I could.

I said goodbye to Mum and Dad and did what many young Australians did in the 1980s – put on a backpack and travelled to the other side of the world with a vague plan to see Europe.

I had purchased a return ticket (which I eventually extended by a month),

I had one friend in England

and not a clue about what to expect on my travels.

qantas-ticket

Life in Camelot’s ticket to adventure

inside-qantas-ticket

Life in Camelot’s ticket to adventure

I marvelled at seeing Mother England,

genevieve-and-beefeater-at-tower-of-london-1986

Life in Camelot and a Beefeater at the Tower of London

where the east coast beaches had no sand, just rocks!

genevieve-in-england-september-1986

Life in Camelot at Snape Moultings in Suffolk, England

Then popped across to the Emerald Isle, which was great craic…

Genevieve & Mary - Ring of Kerry, Ireland 1986 (2)

Life in Camelot and Mary in Ireland

Then I launched myself across the English Channel, alone, and was less than impressed with Paris, or more accurately, with the way I couldn’t communicate with the Parisians.

I stopped off in Nice and Monte Carlo (where I met fellow Australian travellers) and then continued on eastwards to Italy.

genevieve-and-friends-in-monte-carlo-1986

Life in Camelot with fellow travellers in Monte Carlo

The journey only got better from there because…

…Italy was gorgeous,

genevieve-and-mathew-at-the-trevi-fountain-rome-1986

Life in Camelot and Mathew at Trevi Fountain, Rome.

genevieve-at-the-top-of-st-peters-basilica-the-vatican-1986

Life in Camelot at the top of St Peter’s Basilica, Vatican.

Greece was marvellous,

genevieve-michelle-and-mike-at-the-parthenon-19860002

Life In Camelot with Michelle and Mike, American backpackers.

santorini-dinner-10-861

Life In Camelot with fellow international backpackers in Santorini.

genevieve-on-thira-santorini-1986

Life In Camelot at Thira, Santorini

and Turkey was sensational.

genevieve-with-backpack-in-izmir-turkey-1986

Life In Camelot in Turkey

ismaels-house-in-marmaris-turkey-1986

Life In Camelot in Marmaris, Turkey.

Haga Sofia  Istanbul  Turkey - 1986

Life In Camelot in Istanbul.

Genevieve at Turkish Wedding in Izmir  Turkey - 1986

Life In Camelot at Turkish wedding in Izmir

Genevieve at dinner with Erol and friends - Turkey 1986

Life In Camelot in Kusadasi with Australian and Turkish friends.

But the months passed, the northern winter approached and I was getting colder, more homesick and very low on money.

So I headed westward through the same countries and returned to the United Kingdom to travel a bit more (with my fiance who’d flown over to spend Christmas with me) before going home to Sydney, Australia.

genevieve-at-loch-lochy-scotland-1986

Life In Camelot at Loch Lochy, Scottish Highlands

genevieve-in-the-scottish-highlands-1986

Life In Camelot in Scottish Highlands

genevieve-in-the-snow-near-inverness-scotland-1987

Life In Camelot, Aviemore, Scottish Highlands

genevieve-in-twickenham-1986

Life In Camelot, Twickenham, England.

Over the years I have been lucky enough to return to all of those countries, apart from Ireland, but I do plan on returning to them as many more times as I can, as well as all the other countries on my long list.

30 years later I might have a bit more money but also less time to travel as much as I’d like.

I do wish I could travel back in time to relive that wonderful journey with the knowledge I now have, but until that becomes a possibility, I have my photos and more importantly, my memories of my grand adventure.

“Memory is the diary we all carry about with us.” – Oscar Wilde

One thought on “Time travel (how I wish I could)

  1. Pingback: Favourite Song Friday – Gabriel | Life In Camelot

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.

