My ‘hood, Port Melbourne

Port Melbourne street signs

I have lived in Port Melbourne for just on 3 years now and my ‘hood has a long and interesting history, particularly important in the settlement of the city of Melbourne and the state of Victoria.  It also remains a working port today.

 

 

 

Port Melbourne covers quite a large area that includes 3 different localities – mine is called Beacon Cove and features a waterfront promenade, palm-lined boulevards and 2 operational shipping beacons, or mini lighthouses if you prefer.

More importantly though, Beacon Cove is where the cruise ships dock when visiting Melbourne.

Cruise ship in Beacon Cove, Port Melbourne

Cruise ship in my hood, Port Melbourne

Cruise ships queue for a berth in Port Melbourne (my 'hood)

I love cruising and I have written a few tales about my cruise experiences, so what better neighbourhood to live in than one where I can gaze out to sea and reminisce about past cruises and dream about future voyages.

Life In Camelot on Princes Pier, Port MelbourneQM2 at Port Melbourne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our home (my ‘hood) is situated less than 100 metres from Princes Pier, a welcoming point for generations of new arrivals into Australia.  Opened in 1915, it was able to accommodate the largest of steamers and was renamed to honour Prince Edward VII, who made a visit here in 1920.  Over many decades, this pier has played a critical role in commerce, wartime manoeuvres and migration.

My 'hood, Princes Pier, Port Melbourne, Cruising
Princes Pier, Port Melbourne

A short distance down from Princes Pier is Station Pier, originally called Railway Pier. Operating for over 150 years, the pier has been important in almost every phase of Australia’s history and saw the departure and return of thousands of troops and supply ships during WWI and WWII.

Station Pier, Port Melbourne (my 'hood)

troops leave Port Melbourne during WWI

 

 

 

 

 

But it was in the post-World War II years that Station Pier became the welcoming point for thousands of migrants. This is why it holds such a special place in the hearts of many Victorians.


Starting a new life in Australia, Port Melbourne

Last migrant ship leaves Port Melbourne

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 1930 the Port Melbourne channel was dredged to allow for the entry of the new generation of luxury passenger liners and this cruising boom continued until the late twentieth century when cruise ships became unprofitable compared to air travel.

RMS Strathaird at Port Melbourne, Station Pier, 1930s.P & O Liner, 'Orontes', Station Pier, Port Melbourne, 1952

 

 

Thankfully the 21st century has seen a massive return to the popularity of cruising and today, Station Pier is Melbourne and Victoria’s cruise ship gateway.  It is now busier than it has ever been in terms of passenger numbers with almost 80 ship visits scheduled during the 2014-15 cruise ship season.

As a lover of all things cruise, I find this very reassuring.

Life In Camelot, Cruising

Life In Camelot on QM2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recently the City of Port Phillip put out a call out for Waterfront Welcomers – volunteers to meet the cruise ships and guide and inform the visitors to ‘my hood.  The ‘Welcomers’ will provide information on local history, heritage, culture, attractions and activities in the surrounding area to encourage visitors to spend more time in Port Melbourne and the City of Port Phillip.

Naturally, I joined up.

 

Tomorrow sees the arrival of the first cruise ship of the season with the official launch to follow on 20th October.  I look forward to posting updates about this new exciting role as ambassador for this beautiful and unique area, where maritime history meets modern tourism.

Keep an eye out for me at the pier as I meet and greet thousands of passengers as they set foot on the soil of Port Melbourne, my ‘hood.

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. David says:

    Thank you for the history lesson and stunning images of Melbourne. You are living in an area so many want to visit…myself included. If cruise ships stop there, I know it is packed with fun things in the area. 😊

    1. Thanks David, yes it has its moments. I’m originally from Sydney and was uprooted to Melbourne a few years ago, but I’m getting used to it…

  2. Candia says:

    I came to Princes Pier about a week ago and looked for you, but there was no one on the pier at all.
    We had a lovely meal looking out to the water and I took some interesting photos of the old uprights of the original pier.
    Reading between the lines, I think you were away on holiday.
    Anyway, thanks for raising my interest in seeing the arrival point for so many pioneering spirits.
    Sorry not to have made contact!

    1. Hello Candia,
      I’m so sorry to have missed you. The Waterfront Welcomer shifts are from 8.30 – 11.30 in the mornings as this is generally when visitors disembark from the ships. I was down there this past Friday, but it was a slow day. I hope you enjoyed the diversity and beauty of the area, as well as the food. I look forward to hearing more from you and possibly we could meet up in the future.
      Best wishes,
      Genevieve

      1. Candia says:

        We must have arrived a little too late in the morning.
        Now we are back in the UK, but will meet on-line, at least!
        C

      2. Oddly, we spent a good deal of our summer holiday in the UK and the US – cold, cold, cold.
        https://lifeincamelot.wordpress.com/2014/12/25/merry-christmas-2014/

      3. Candia says:

        Yes, the minute I returned to the UK I got terrible asthma from everyone unhelpfully burning damp logs all around me. Didn’t have a twinge of anything wrong with me in Australia.
        Feel like emigrating, if they will have me.

  3. Candia says:

    I think I meant Princes pier Port Melbourne??!
    C

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.