Beaches

BEACH
noun: beach; plural noun: beaches.
  1. a pebbly or sandy shore, especially by the sea between high- and low-water marks.

 

As I walk our dog along the beach just metres from our home I see summer slowly slipping away from the southern hemisphere for yet another year.

I grew up by the beach and have spent most of my life by the beach; I shall never tire of the privilege of having salt in my hair and sand in my toes.

Even my name seems to have origins from the beach:

The name Genevieve is a Celtic baby name. The meaning of the name is: White wave.

There are oceans and seas all over the world, but there is something special about those places where a ribbon of sand separates the ocean from the land.

I have loved, laughed and lazed on the beach and absorbed the restorative powers of the sun and the sea.

I have wept tears into the sand whilst contemplating the futility of my own existence, and once (in a brief moment of teenage angst) even toyed with the idea of tossing myself into the foamy waves.

With age and wisdom I have come to appreciate all the elements offered by the beach that go beyond mere swimming and sunbaking.  The beach has offered me inspiration and invigoration, relaxation and rejuvenation.  And then there are the negative ions.

What are negative ions?  Ions are molecules that have gained or lost an electrical charge. Negative ions are created in nature as air molecules break apart due to sunlight, radiation, and moving air and water. They are odorless, tasteless, and invisible and we inhale them in abundance in certain environments. For example you may have experienced the power of negative ions when you last set foot on the beach or walked beneath a waterfall or immediately after spring thunderstorms.

 

My daughter has now spent a great deal of her life by the beach and we have walked on and waded in beaches all around the world.

It is a good life that is lived by the beach.

Life in Camelot, Beaches, summer, Barbados

 

And to add some extra joy to your day here are some lovely quotes about the beach.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love the circle pictures and the feeling of nostalgia that permeates your post. Ah, to be at the beach right now . . .

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.