Favourite Song Friday – Ronstadt

Yesterday I learnt of the deaths of two people – both were elderly gentlemen so had lived long and fairly full lives but both had been a part of my life; one was a wonderful neighbour on the street where I grew up and the other was my first neighbour in Melbourne when I moved here.

This week’s Favourite Song Friday is in honour of them:

Somewhere Out There by James Horner and

performed by Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram.

 

 

This song is special to me – I taught it to my daughter when she was tiny and we have sung it together ever since (usually in the car).

We have also watched An American Tail, (an animated movie in which this song features), many times and I can recommend that for a bit of fun too.

This song incorporates a love theme and a slightly terrestial theme – it may be a bit spooky but I have requested that my daughter have it played at my funeral – one day.  I am not religious but I would (selfishly) hope that the memory of me lives on, just a little, with my friends and loved ones after I am gone,

so that:

Somewhere out there beneath the pale moonlight
Someone’s thinking of me and loving me tonight
Somewhere out there someone’s saying a prayer
That we’ll find one another in that dream somewhere out there

I welcome your thoughts and songs that give you pause for thought, or just make you feel good and please share your Favourite Song this Friday (or any day).

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Suze says:

    my favorite song (for about the past twenty years) has been Mad World.

    1. I love Tears for Fears, if that is the version you are referring to Suze.

      1. Suze says:

        oh yes……..and actually I enjoyed the version that some boy on television did too..adam something……..lambert! ha, I actually remembered something! lol

      2. I am a fan of his too, but didn’t know he did a version – will look it up.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.