Favourite Song Friday – Braithwaite

This Friday’s Favourite Song is a little bit late because sometimes life gets very busy, so here is the aptly named,

 As the Days Go By, written and performed by Daryl Braithwaite.

When I was young Daryl Braithwaite lead a band called Sherbet.  I was probably the only teenage girl in Australia who didn’t follow this band (and yes, this is what bands wore in the 1970s!)

Life in Camelot, Favourite Song Friday - As the Days Go By
Sherbet, in the 1970s, with Daryl Braithwaite on the far left.

It wasn’t until Daryl released some solo albums in the late 1980s and early 1990s that I really discovered his music and his style.

Now he is another of the artists that I have taken with me on my travels, be it driving around the north island of New Zealand, or running around the deck of any of the Cunard Queens, cruising to all the corners of the globe.

Because I am getting older I do appreciate the life I have lived so far, but also look forward to the life I have yet to live, (and the journeys I shall take), so the words of the first verse of this Favourite Song (not Friday) resonate with me:

My love of life just gets stronger
As the days go by
And some things I wish they would last
Just a little bit long longer
As the days go by.

Do you have any music that makes your travel even more memorable?

Please comment and share your Favourite Songs with me.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.