Travel theme: Grassy

For this week’s Travel Theme: Grassy,  I was inspired to share some photos of the magnificent creatures who make the grasslands their home.

ZEBRA:

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Zebras, Werribee Zoo

GIRAFFE:

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Giraffe, Werribbee Zoo

RHINO:

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Rhino, Werribee Zoo

These are photos, taken by me, but I’ve never travelled to Africa.

So how did I take them?

Would you believe me if I told you that these photographs were taken in a suburb of Melbourne (Australia), approximately 15 minutes drive from my home, at the Werribee Open Range Zoo.

The Off Road Safari takes passengers in an open sided truck through various grassy pastures to see African animals living in an environment compatible with their native one, right here in Australia.

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Werribee Open Range Zoo

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, rhino, Werribee Open Range Zoo

As you can see, the animals gave us some wonderful photo opportunities and they don’t seem to fear the trucks; in fact we had to stop several times to wait for them to cross in front of us, because who in their right mind is going to cross a rhinoceros?

Life In Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Rhino, Giraffe, Werribee Zoo

Life in Camelot, Travel Theme: Grassy, Giraffe, Werribee Open Plain Zoo

We had a wonderful winter’s day at Werribee Open Range Zoo, with the blue sky above us and the green grass below.

We took a good look at the animals and they took a good look at us:

What grassy safaris or other unique experiences have you had in your own backyard that you’d care to share?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Belinda O says:

    Nothing like a curious glance from a giraffe!! We have something similar here near me, although I don’t believe there are any rhinos. I love it!!

    1. Yes, it is great to be a tourist in your own city sometimes. We have an American guest here right now and are trying to see the city through her eyes.

  2. Candia says:

    Greetings from the UK!
    Wow, that’s one place we didn’t get to. No need to go to Africa if that is on your door-step! Mind you, other things to see and do in Africa, I’m sure. Just haven’t made it there. One day?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this topic, or anything else on your mind.